Board of Trustees

The Foundation’s Board of Trustees brings together individuals from the fields of science, economy, culture, politics, and the media. Each member is committed to furthering German-Israeli relations actively in his/her professional field. This engagement and dedication plays a key role inside the Foundation: The Board members establish the guidelines of the Foundation’s work and decide on the allocation of funds. They advise, support and supervise the Executive with respect to his or her activities.

The Foundation’s highest authority is the Board of Trustees. Our commitment to bilateral work is also evident in the Board’s composition, with each participating government appointing six members.

Our Board members:

Dr. Dr. Hermann Simon (chairman)
Yair Hamburger (vice chairman)

Elke Büdenbender
Dr. Yael Hadass
Jana Hensel
Ambassador Jeremy Issacharoff
Dr. Esther Lopatin
Prof. Dr. Christoph Markschies
Minister of State Michelle Müntefering
Prof. Irit Sagi
Dr. Thomas Sparr

Prof. Dr. Shlomo Avineri
Ambassador Yoram Ben-Zeev
Minister of State Prof. Dr. Maria Böhmer
Dr. Arye Carmon
Dr. Ruthie Eitan
Michael Federmann (vice chairman)
Ambassador Yaacov Hadas-Handelsman
Dr. Michael Jansen (chairman)
Dr. Michael Naumann
Prof. Dr. Günther Nonnenmacher
René R. Obermann
Prof. Dr. Fania Oz-Salzberger
Minister of State Cornelia Pieper
Adar Primor
Christina Rau
Daniela Schadt
Nava Semel (1954 – 2017)
Dr. Sylke Tempel (1963 – 2017)
David Witzthum
Prof. Regina Ziegler