Sylke-Tempel-Fellowship
Sylke-Tempel-Fellowship
"Analytical acumen combined with great warmth and affection"
Shimon Stein, Der Tagesspiegel 6.10.2017

In memory of Dr. Sylke Tempel (1963-2017), the Board of the Directors of the German-Israeli Future Forum Foundation established the Sylke-Tempel-Fellowship programme.

In the framework of the programme, the Foundation awards research fellowships to young experts exploring foreign policy and socio-political issues that will be relevant in Israel and in Germany also in the future. The research results are discussed in closed expert forums, introduced to the public at conferences and published.  


The first year of the fellowship program will focus on the topic “Russian speaking communities in Germany and Israel: Their relations to Russia and their significance in both countries“ and will be organized in cooperation with the German Association for East European Studies, the German Council on Foreign Relations, and the Center for Liberal Moder­nity.

To the Call for Applications


Topic for the second year (2020):
„Israel and Germany in the US election year“

Sylke Tempel

As a board member, Dr. Sylke Tempel advised the work of our foundation with wisdom and great commitment. She was an extraordinary voice in German foreign policy, a Middle East correspondent, editor for the “Jüdische Allgemeine”, lecturer at Stanford University, as well as author and editor-in-chief of the journal “Internationale Politik” published by the German Council on Foreign Relations.

We miss Sylke Tempel, her cleverness, her sense for justice, her puns, her ability to look forward with positivity and commitment, her laughter. The gap she left will remain.

Sylke-Tempel-Fellowship
Sylke-Tempel-Fellowship
„Analytischer Scharfsinn verband sich mit großer Herzenswärme”
Shimon Stein, Der Tagesspiegel 6.10.2017


Im Gedenken an Dr. Sylke Tempel (1963-2017) hat das Kuratorium der Stiftung Deutsch-Israelisches Zukunftsforum ein Sylke-Tempel-Fellowship-Programm eingerichtet.
Im Rahmen des Programms vergibt die Stiftung Forschungsstipendien an junge Expert*innen, die an außen- und gesellschaftspolitischen Themen arbeiten, die in Israel und in Deutschland auch zukünftig Relevanz haben. Die Forschungsergebnisse werdenunter Einbindung weiterer Expert*innen in geschlossenen Fachgesprächen diskutiert, auf Konferenzen öffentlich vorgestellt und publiziert.

Im ersten Jahr widmet sich das Fellowship-Programm dem Thema “Russischsprachige Gemeinschaften in Deutschland und Israel: Ihre Beziehungen zu Russland und ihre Bedeutung in beiden Ländern“ und wird in Kooperation mit der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Osteuropakunde, der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Auswärtige Politik und dem Zentrum Liberale Moderne organisiert.  

Zur Ausschreibung


Thema des 2. Jahrgangs (2020):
„Israel und Deutschland im US-Wahljahr”


Sylke Tempel

Dr. Sylke Tempel hat die Arbeit unserer Stiftung als Mitglied unseres Kuratoriums mit klugem Rat und großem Engagement begleitet. Sie war eine herausragende Stimme in der deutschen Außenpolitik, Nahost-Korrespondentin, Redakteurin der „Jüdischen Allgemeinen”, Dozentin an der Stanford University, Buchautorin, und Chefredakteurin der von der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Auswärtige Politik herausgegebenen Zeitschrift „Internationale Politik”.

Wir vermissen Sylke Tempel, ihre Klugheit, ihren Gerechtigkeitssinn, ihren Wortwitz, ihr engagiertes und positives Nach-Vorneschauen, ihr Lachen. Die Lücke wird bleiben.