Board of Trustees
Board of Trustees

The Foundation’s Board of Trustees brings together individuals from the fields of science, economy, culture, politics, and the media. Each member is committed to furthering German-Israeli relations actively in his/her professional field. This engagement and dedication plays a key role inside the Foundation: The Board members establish the guidelines of the Foundation’s work, decide on the allocation of funds, and advise the Executive Director on her decisions.

The Foundation’s highest authority is the Board of Trustees. Our commitment to bilateral work is also evident in the Board’s composition, with each participating government appointing six members.

Our Board members:

Dr. Dr. Hermann Simon (chairman)
Yair Hamburger (vice chairman)
Minister of State Prof. Dr. Maria Böhmer
Dr. Arye Carmon
Dr. Yael Hadass
Ambassador Jeremy Issacharoff
Dr. Esther Lopatin
Prof. Dr. Christoph Markschies
Adar Primor
Daniela Schadt
Dr. Thomas Sparr
Dr. Sylke Tempel

Prof. Dr. Shlomo Avineri
Ambassador Yoram Ben-Zeev
Dr. Ruthie Eitan
Michael Federmann (vice chairman)
Ambassador Yaacov Hadas-Handelsman
Dr. Michael Jansen (chairman)
Dr. Michael Naumann
Prof. Dr. Günther Nonnenmacher
René R. Obermann
Prof. Dr. Fania Oz-Salzberger
Minister of State Cornelia Pieper
Christina Rau
Nava Semel
David Witzthum
Prof. Regina Ziegler